خضع ستيفن كولبيرت لعملية جراحية
الصفحة الرئيسية / أمراض المعدة / خضع ستيفن كولبيرت لعملية جراحية

خضع ستيفن كولبيرت لعملية جراحية

يتعافى ستيفن كولبيرت بعد أن خضع لعملية جراحية لتمزق الزائدة الدودية. نشرت حسابات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الرسمية للعرض المتأخر مع ستيفن كولبيرت رسالة من المضيف في أواخر نوفمبر يعلن فيها أنه يجب إلغاء العرض لهذا الأسبوع. وجاء في الرسالة: "آسف لأقول إنني سأضطر إلى إلغاء عروضنا هذا الأسبوع". ستيف، أعلم أنك تفكر، جرعة زائدة من الديك الرومي؟ انقلب قارب المرق؟ ويمضي ليقول إنه يتعافى من جراحة تمزق الزائدة الدودية. وتابع: "أنا ممتن لأطبائي على رعايتهم، ولإيفي والأطفال لتحملهم معي". "سيتعامل البنكرياس الآن مع جميع رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المرسلة إلى الملحق الخاص بي." 

هذه هي المرة الثانية التي يتعطل فيها جدول إنتاج كولبير منذ عرضه، الذي تم تسجيله على الهواء مباشرة أمام الجمهور في مسرح إد سوليفان في مانهاتن، والذي عاد إلى الهواء في أوائل أكتوبر بعد حل الإضراب المطول لنقابة الكتاب الأمريكية. استضاف كولبير، الذي كان المضيف الأكثر مشاهدة على التلفزيون الأمريكي في وقت متأخر من الليل لعدة سنوات، حلقة من منزله بعد أن ثبتت إصابته بكوفيد-19 قبل إلغاء بقية أقساط الأسبوع. 

خضع ستيفن كولبيرت لعملية جراحية
الصورة مجاملة: Uأسبوعي

بين الضيف مشاهير ومن المقرر أن تظهر في العرض هذا الأسبوع الممثلة جنيفر جارنر والمخرج باز لورمان والممثل باتريك ستيوارت والمغنية والممثلة باربرا سترايسند والممثل كيلسي جرامار. ولم يتم تقديم تفاصيل حول متى مرض كولبير وخضع لعملية جراحية، أو المدة التي قضاها في المستشفى، أو ما إذا كان قد خرج من المستشفى.

ما سبب تمزق الزائدة الدودية؟

من المحتمل أن ستيفن كولبير كان يعاني من التهاب الزائدة الدودية الذي تطور ثم أصبح مثقوبًا. تمزق الزائدة الدودية لا يعني بالضرورة أن الزائدة الدودية انفجرت. وهذا يعني أنه في عملية الإصابة، جدار الملحق أصبح غرغرينا. هذه مشكلة لأن التهاب الزائدة الدودية هو العملية التي يتجمع فيها السائل في الزائدة الدودية، مثل الخراج أو الكتلة الالتهابية. عندما تصبح الزائدة الدودية ممزقة أو مثقوبة، فإنها تتطلب عناية طبية فورية. يستغرق الأمر وقتًا حتى تنتقل العملية من التهاب الزائدة الدودية إلى التمزق؛ لا يحدث في وقت واحد. ومع ذلك، إذا تأخر تشخيص التهاب الزائدة الدودية، فقد يتحول إلى التهاب الزائدة الدودية الغنغريني الذي قد يؤدي بعد ذلك إلى مضاعفات أكثر خطورة.

ما هي خطة العلاج لتمزق الزائدة الدودية؟

الرعاية القياسية لالتهاب الزائدة الدودية الحاد هي عملية جراحية لإزالة الزائدة الدودية المصابة. ومع ذلك، فقد أبرزت بعض الأبحاث أنه في علاج التهاب الزائدة الدودية، قد تكون المضادات الحيوية فعالة مثل الجراحة. قد تختلف النتائج بناءً على الظروف الصحية للفرد، ولكن في معظم الحالات، لا تعتبر المضادات الحيوية عادةً بديلاً للمضادات الحيوية. إستئصال الزائدة الدودية. يختار معظم الأشخاص الجراحة حتى يتمكنوا من مواصلة حياتهم دون أي مشاكل أخرى. ومع ذلك، في حالة حدوث ثقب، سيتم علاج المريض بالمضادات الحيوية لمدة 5-7 أيام تقريبًا. وذلك لتسوية الالتهاب الذي يحدث، ومن ثم يتم إجراء عملية استئصال الزائدة الدودية على فترات. عادةً، يمكن إجراء العلاج محليًا ولكن هناك أيضًا خيار العلاج الطبي المجدول في الخارج. سوف يتطلب الأمر وكالة سفر طبية جيدة لغرض السياحة الطبية.

ما هي فترة التعافي من تمزق الزائدة الدودية؟

التهاب الزائدة الدودية وتختلف الحالات على المستوى الفردي، من حالات معقدة للغاية إلى حالات غير معقدة. عندما يعاني المريض من التهاب الزائدة الدودية المبكر غير الممزق أو غير المصحوب بمضاعفات، عادة ما يخرج من المستشفى خلال ساعات بعد الجراحة. ولهم الحرية في العودة إلى حياتهم اليومية الروتينية وعملهم. ومع ذلك، في التهاب الزائدة الدودية المعقد، قد يبقى المريض في المستشفى لمدة يوم أو أكثر. قد يحتاج المريض إلى مضادات حيوية قوية عن طريق الوريد وقد يحتاج إلى تصريف السوائل المصابة المتراكمة. غالبًا ما يعاني هؤلاء المرضى من أعراض أكثر خطورة وقد يحتاجون إلى فترة تعافي أطول تصل إلى أسبوع أو أسبوعين تقريبًا.

ما هي أسباب التهاب الزائدة الدودية؟

الملحق عبارة عن كيس صغير من أنسجة الأمعاء على شكل إصبع، يقع بين الأمعاء الدقيقة والغليظة. على الرغم من أن التهاب الزائدة الدودية أمر شائع، إلا أن الأسباب ليست مفهومة تمامًا. ويقال إن هذه الحالة لا علاقة لها بالوراثة، أو عدم ممارسة الرياضة أو حتى النظام الغذائي. ويمكن أن يؤثر أيضًا على أي شخص، بغض النظر عن العمر أو الجنس أو الخلفية العرقية أو الإثنية. ومع ذلك، فإن التهاب الزائدة الدودية أكثر شيوعًا عند الذكور منه عند الإناث. ويحدث أيضًا في كثير من الأحيان لدى الأفراد في سن المراهقة والعشرينيات من العمر، ولكنه قد يحدث أيضًا لدى كبار السن في أي عمر.

ما هو تطور حالة التهاب الزائدة الدودية؟

وظيفة هذا العضو الصغير غامضة بقدر ما هي أسباب التهاب الزائدة الدودية. بطريقة ما، يعلق شيء ما في العضو؛ فهو ينتفخ، ويقطع إمداده الدموي، ويصاب بالعدوى، والتي يمكن أن تتطور إلى حالة الغرغرينا والانثقاب. يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك بعد ذلك إلى تسرب المحتويات المصابة وتطور خراج أو كتلة التهابية أو حتى التهاب الصفاق المعمم. هذه هي الطريقة التي تعمل بها، مشكلة ميكانيكية تحدث بسبب سوء الحظ.

خضع ستيفن كولبير لعملية جراحية - مراحل التهاب الزائدة الدودية
الصورة مجاملة: Verywell الصحة

ما هي العلامات التي يجب الانتباه إليها عند إصابة المريض بالتهاب الزائدة الدودية؟

الصورة مجاملة: Freepik

يظهر التهاب الزائدة الدودية كحالة طبية طارئة تتطلب عناية فورية، والتي قد تتطور إلى الزائدة الدودية المثقوبة أو الممزقة. كلما تم العلاج مبكرًا، زادت فرص منع التمزق. الأعراض التي قد تظهر في التهاب الزائدة الدودية تتضمن:

  • آلم بطني
  • الإمساك
  • قيء
  • الإسهال
  • الحمى
  • قلة الشهية

وفي حالة ظهور أي من هذه الأعراض، يجب على الشخص طلب المساعدة الطبية الطارئة على الفور. سيقوم الأطباء المختصون بإجراء اختبارات لتحديد تشخيص التهاب الزائدة الدودية ثم متابعة العلاج.

هل يمكن أن يكون تمزق الزائدة الدودية مهددًا للحياة؟

عندما يترك دون علاج، يصبح التهاب الزائدة الدودية مشكلة خطيرة. يساعد علاج الحالة عن طريق استئصال الزائدة الدودية بطريقة طفيفة التوغل في منع تطور الحالة إلى تمزق الملحق. نظرًا لأن التهاب الزائدة الدودية هو عدوى موضعية، فيمكن عادةً التعامل معه بسرعة. عندما تُترك دون علاج، يمكن أن يتطور التهاب الزائدة الدودية الغنغريني، مع حدوث ثقب، مما يؤدي إلى التهاب الصفاق الموضعي أو المعمم. التهاب الصفاق هو التهاب الصفاق، وهو الطبقة الرقيقة من الأنسجة التي تحيط بالجزء الداخلي من البطن ومعظم أعضاء البطن. قد يؤدي إلى التهاب هذا الصفاق تعفن الدم وربما الموت.

المعلومات المقدمة في هذه المدونة هي للأغراض التعليمية فقط ولا ينبغي اعتبارها نصيحة طبية. وليس المقصود منه أن يحل محل الاستشارة الطبية المتخصصة أو التشخيص أو العلاج. استشر دائمًا مقدم رعاية صحية مؤهل قبل اتخاذ أي قرارات تتعلق بصحتك. قراءة المزيد

المشاركات مماثلة

Stephen Colbert had surgery
Home / gastrology / Stephen Colbert had surgery

Stephen Colbert had surgery

Stephen Colbert is recovering after he had surgery for a ruptured appendix. The official social media accounts for the late show with Stephen Colbert publicized a message from the host in late November announcing that the show would have to be cancelled for that week. “Sorry to say that I have to cancel our shows this week,” the message said. Steve, I know you’re thinking, Turkey overdose? A gravy boat capsizes? He goes on to say that he is healing from an appendix rupture surgery. “I’m grateful to my doctors for their care and to Evie and the kids for putting up with me,” he continued. “My pancreas will now handle all emails sent to my appendix.” 

This marks the second time that Colbert’s production schedule has been disrupted since his show, which was recorded live in front of an audience at Manhattan’s Ed Sullivan Theatre, returned to the air in early October after The Writers Guild of America’s protracted strike was resolved. Colbert, who has been the most-watched host on U.S late-night television for several years, hosted an episode from his home after he had tested positive for COVID-19 before the rest of the week’s instalments were cancelled. 

Stephen Colbert had surgery
Picture courtesy: Us Weekly

Among the guest celebrities due to appear on the show this week were actress Jennifer Garner, director Baz Luhrmann, actor Patrick Stewart, singer-actress Barbra Streisand and actor Kelsey Grammar. There were no details offered as to when Colbert fell ill and had surgery, how long he was hospitalized, or whether he had been discharged.

What caused the ruptured appendix?

Stephen Colbert probably had appendicitis which progressed and then became perforated. Rupturing of the appendix does not necessarily mean that the appendix exploded. It means that in the process of being infected, the wall of the appendix became gangrenous. This is an issue because appendicitis is the process where fluid is collected in the appendix, like an abscess or an inflammatory mass. When the appendix becomes ruptured or perforated, it requires immediate medical attention. It takes time for the process to go from appendicitis to rupture; it does not happen all at once. However, if diagnosis of the appendicitis is delayed, it can become gangrenous appendicitis which may then lead to more severe complications.

What is the treatment plan for a ruptured appendix?

The standard care for acute appendicitis is surgery to remove the affected appendix. However, some research has highlighted that in treating appendicitis, antibiotics may just be as effective as surgery. Results may vary based on an individual’s health circumstances, but in most cases, antibiotics are not usually considered as an alternative to an appendectomy. Most people choose surgery so that they can get on with their lives with no further issues. However, in the case that it perforates, the patient will be treated with antibiotics for about 5-7 days. This is to settle the inflammation that is going on, and then an interval appendectomy is carried out. Usually, treatment can be carried out locally but there is also the option of a scheduled overseas medical treatment. It would require a good medical travel agency for the purpose of medical tourism.

What is the recovery period of a ruptured appendix?

Appendicitis cases vary on an individual level, from very complicated to uncomplicated cases. When a patient has an early unruptured or uncomplicated appendicitis, they are usually discharged within hours after the surgery. They are free to return to their normal routines and their work. However, in complicated appendicitis, a patient may be in the hospital for a day or more. The patient may require strong intravenous antibiotics and may require the draining of the accumulated infected fluids. These patients often present with much more severe symptoms and may require a longer period of recovery of about a week or two.

What are the causes of appendicitis?

The appendix is a small pouch of intestinal tissue that is shaped like a finger, located between the small and large intestines. While appendicitis is common, the causes are not fully understood. The condition is said to have nothing to do with genetics, lack of exercise or even diet. It can also affect anybody, regardless of age, sex, racial or ethnic background. However, appendicitis is slightly more common in males than in females. It also happens more often in individuals in their teens and 20s, but it may still occur in older people of any age.

What is the progression of an appendicitis condition?

The function of the little organ is as much a mystery as the causes of appendicitis. Somehow, something gets stuck in the organ; it swells up, cuts off its blood supply, and becomes infected, which can progress to gangrenous condition and perforation. This can then lead to a seepage of infected contents and the development of an abscess, an inflammatory mass or even a generalized peritonitis. That is how it works, a mechanical problem that occurs from bad luck.

Stephen Colbert had surgery - appendicitis stages
Picture courtesy: Verywell Health

What are the signs to look out for when a patient has appendicitis?

Picture courtesy: Freepik

Appendicitis presents as a medical emergency that requires immediate attention, which may progress to a perforated or ruptured appendix. The sooner treatment is administered, the greater the chances of preventing a rupture. The symptoms that may be seen in appendicitis include:

  • Abdominal pain
  • Constipation
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea
  • Fever
  • Inappetence

In the instance that any of these symptoms are being experienced, the person should immediately seek emergency medical help. Medical professionals will carry out tests to determine the appendicitis diagnosis and then proceed with the treatment.

Can a ruptured appendix be life-threatening?

When left untreated, appendicitis becomes a severe issue. Treating the condition with a minimally invasive appendectomy helps in the prevention of the progression of the condition to a ruptured appendix. Since an appendicitis is a localized infection, it can usually be handled quickly. When left untreated, gangrenous appendicitis can develop, with a perforation happening, leading to either localized or generalized peritonitis. Peritonitis is the inflammation of the peritoneum, which is the thin layer of tissue that surrounds the inside of the abdomen and most of the abdominal organs. Inflammation of this peritoneum may result in sepsis and possibly death.

The information provided in this blog is for educational purposes only and should not be considered as medical advice. It is not intended to replace professional medical consultation, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult with a qualified healthcare provider before making any decisions regarding your health. Read more

Similar Posts